Coal fire

This song started playing when I was engrossed in some mundane work that I was doing. It is a slow song with just one acoustic guitar and a violin in the backdrop. And still, it struck some chord that I couldn’t resist listening to it in loops. And then.. I had to sketch my interpretation of the song!

Somewhere deep inside, we are all lonely. We are all fighting our own battles, chronic disease, depression, financial issues – could be anything. How many times do we share it? How many times do we show that we are dying inch by inch inside? How many times do people realize that there are acres of fire burning underground till it rises up  as a piece of hell

I don’t know what is right and wrong. Is it better to dig a hole in your heart and bury your pain? Or is it better to share it? Is it okay to trouble someone with your burden? How much would they take it? Sometimes, we let our pain define us – we are scared of our existence outside the trauma. I think I am one of those people.

Like a wooden puppet, I am letting my pain dictate the course of my life. I am tired of sharing my pain, tired of leaning on for support. And I am scared. Scared that people will leave. And they do! How many more times should I open my broken heart and let people in – just to see them leave.

It is just a cycle of relief and pain. I know I am supposed to be strong by myself. But I am scared of stepping out of my pain. Scared of what I am without it. So I dig a hole inside of me and let everything burn underground. I know it is starting to rise up as a piece of hell to burn me down. Hope, I rise as a Pheonix from the ashes.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star